CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 09-07-2011, 04:57 PM   #1
Stephanie Schwab

Profile:
How sore is too sore to workout?

So I am brand new to Crossfit, and, how can I put this, extraordinarily out of shape and sedentary. And I have about 70 pounds to lose. I joined a box with my mom and we started On Ramp last night. Well, as you can imagine it was incredibly difficult. I nearly puked and today my legs are so incredibly sore. I am want to scream every time i have to use the restroom or go up the stairs! Anyways, normally On Ramp will be every other day (MWF) but because of the holiday we are doing two days back to back. So do I go and push through? My mom who is in much better shape than me is going and I hate to miss. I can't imagine I will be able to do much with these legs. I would appreciate any advice! Thanks so much. Oh, can i take advil, or will numbing the pain and then working out put me at risk for injury? Thanks!
Old 09-07-2011, 06:17 PM   #2
Kayla Murphy

Profile:
Re: How sore is too sore to workout?

Go. If you're sore it will help to loosen everything up if you make sure to go back. I remember my first week or two of On Ramp I was so sore, but I went every time because I knew I would be happier if I did.

It's totally fine to take some advil! It will likely curb the soreness enough for you to be able to get through the WOD. And I suggest about a minute or two (if you can stand it) of icy cold water in your shower. If you wake up crazy sore again (which is likely) take a cold shower in the morning. Your body might be all but you will be much happier in the long run.

And Super Good Luck to you!!!!
Old 09-07-2011, 06:35 PM   #3
Stephanie Schwab

Profile:

Thank you Kayla!
Old 09-07-2011, 06:42 PM   #4
Eric Montgomery

Profile: