CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Workout Logs
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Workout Logs Post your logs here!

Old 11-07-2008, 07:00 AM   #1
Lauren Hall

Profile:
Lauren's Starter Log

I'm new to Crossfit, though I've done many of the moves at kickboxing classes I take at a martial arts center. My main goal is simply overall fitness. Crossfit seemed like good fit since the workouts are short but intense. I get bored easily.

Today I decided to try one of the WOD from earlier this week (not good on the names, but the 800 m, 50 situp, 50 back). I ended up tweaking it since the 800m killed me a little more than expected.

Here's my WOD:
CFWU (except for Samson stretch b/c I couldn't figure out what that was... anyone want to help me out?)

800 m - 5 min, 15 sec. - not a great time, but I'm not a runner. At all. I was pretty winded at the end of this, but didn't have to walk or anything.
50 sit-ups
50 back extensions (didn't bother timing, but didn't have to stop)
Switched over to the WOD from yesterday (I think).
Shoulder press - 40 lbs (I'm using two 20lb dumbells for these since I don't have a bar)
Push Press - 30 lbs
Push jerk - 30 lbs.
End with 100 sit ups.

I'm using low weights to get my form right and also because I have rotator cuff issues from my bag classes, so I'm trying to build strength instead of ripping out a shoulder.

So, not too impressive. I'm already feeling better though, after doing a couple modified WODs earlier this week. Abs hurt like hell from an earlier workout, and the sets of squats from earlier this week have my legs burning. It's a good burn though. I'm looking forward to future WODs and gradually increasing my time and endurance on the runs.
Old 11-07-2008, 07:11 AM   #2
Nik Nichols

Profile:
Re: Lauren's Starter Log

samson stretch

http://ruddystranger.typepad.com/pho..._park_055.html

alternate each leg, hold for a count of 10ish