CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Competitions
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Competitions Competitions, contests & challenges

Old 08-24-2008, 09:16 AM   #1
Robert Vest

Profile:
combat challenge firefighters

How many of you crossfit firefighters are also combat challenge competitors ?
I was just curious. I ran in my first challenge on 8/15 in Altus, OK, my time was 2:55. I sitll have some work to do. I'm going to Tyler, TX on 9/5 then to St. Louis sometime in October. Just wanted to introduce myself and see how many other combat challenge people we had here. Stay safe everyone !
Old 08-24-2008, 10:27 AM   #2
Carl Pawluk

Profile:
Re: combat challenge firefighters

Robert,

I did a combat challenge a couple of years ago, and 1 last year. Both times were around 2:30ish. I wasn't doing Crossfit though. We've got some guys going to Milwaukee in Sept. and I'm going to Akron on October 3rd and 4th. I really think a realistic time for me this time is sub 1:50. Crossfit has made me so much stronger especially in the core. So much of the challenge is core related as with all firefighting work. We've got a course set up at one of our firehouses and our Combat Team is gonna run it tomorrow. I haven't done the course since mid summer last year. I'll let you know if there's much improvement now that I'm a crossfitter.

Welcome!

-Carl
Old 08-24-2008, 10:32 AM   #3
W. Geoffrey Miller

Profile:

I've been running the Combat Challenge for three years now. I started off with a 2:23 in Elkton, MD back in 1995 and my PR stands at 2:07 which was in Elkton, MD last year. There are a number of Combat Challenge competitors who follow CrossFit. Brandon Cunningham and David Bowman are just two of the world-class competitors that come to mind. There are a number of others as well who have seen great improvements in their PR by following CF.