CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > Community > Community
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Community Catch all category for CrossFit community discussion.

Old 03-19-2006, 08:25 PM   #1
Russell Biser

Profile:
I have decided to go out for a practice of Auburn's Rugby team on tuesday, and possibly take it up to play in the fall. I have been doing crossfit since August 2005 and am now usually close or at "as Rxed" but my times are usually around the middle of the pack. What should I do to succeed? I am 6'4" and 175 lbs, so I don't know if I have the right build or should gain 30 pounds. I am fresh to the sport so I don't know what is what.

Any advice? (Besides increasing my tolerance for stout)
Old 03-19-2006, 08:37 PM   #2
Catherine Imes

Profile:
Wait until you get out to practice.. I take it that this is a college side team ( not a club side). Getting bigger may not be that important at this point. I live in St. Louis and we've got several club side teams and a newly formed super league team. The guys are bigger, but they're older too.

You're tall and you would probably be an ideal height for a 2nd row or lock. See how the practices go and then base your decision on your position.

Good luck.
CI
Old 03-19-2006, 09:20 PM   #3
Russell Biser

Profile:
What does college side team mean? The team is only current Auburn university students.
Old 03-19-2006, 09:48 PM   #4
Luke Schollmeyer

Profile:
What does college side team mean? The team is only current Auburn university students.

I think what Catherine is referring to is the fact that most college teams don't have bigger blokes, but clubs do since they tend to be open to the public. There's a big difference with guys who are 25 - 35 and have had more time to put on weight and such.

Old 03-20-2006, 12:10 AM   #5
Andy Shirley

Profile:
Catherine,