CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > In Sickness and In Health > Injuries
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Injuries Chronic & Acute

Old 10-03-2010, 04:53 PM   #1
Nick Horn

Profile:
Inversion Therapy and Reverse Hypers for Spondylolisthesis

Are there any medical professionals here who could offer me some good advice regarding my condition and measures to minimize the effects and still continue training?

I am an active duty Army officer diagnosed with Spondylolisthesis, L5 shifted approx 30-35% forward (anterior) over S1. I most likely incurred my injury during my early years in the military. To my knowledge, the degree of shift has not changed over the years. I have been crossfitting for 4 years, and my back issues have fluctuated over the years in terms of severity and impact to my workouts. However, it has not impacted my ability to do my job or deploy. At this time, I am mid way through my 8th deployment, and I'm trying to proactively minimze my syptoms as much as possible on a daily basis.

At this time, I avoid heavy deadlifts and GHDs, but pretty much do every thing else as Rx'd. My symptoms sometimes include back soreness, which gets too severe to exercise about 1-2 times a year for a few days. I do my best to listen to my body and reduce my activity when this happens.

Of more concern though, is the fact that I have tingling in my lower legs and feet. I have not had any negative effects in terms of strength, but it is a nusiance, and concerns me, especially long term.

In addition to staying in excellent shape, I try to ensure that my hamstrings stay stretched out and I probably spend more time than your average crossfitter warming up.