CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Nutrition
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Nutrition Diet, supplements, weightloss, health & longevity

Old 09-01-2005, 08:01 PM   #1
Aaron Kromer

Profile:  
Ok so I'm just starting out and have been trying to do the Zone for about 2 weeks. Last week was about 50%, this week is close to 80%. I'm still feeling pretty tired and out of it a bit of the time, but I also just started classes again (college student here). So that could be part of it. But tonight I re-read the CFJ on Meals and noticed that the meals i had been eating (from the recommended meal blocks) didn't add up to the correct blocks when i actually checked the way you determine a block.

For instance, broccoli. Cooked broccoli in an amount of 1 1/4 cup is 1 carb block. According to the bag (it's frozen - Hanover brand, i'm a poor college student and the zone is a big strain on the old wallet so I buy whatever is on sale fresh or frozen for veggies) a serving size of broccoli cooked to directions has the following info:
amount: 1 cup
cal: 25
carbs: 3g (2g dietary fiber, 1g sugar)
protein: 2g
ingredients: cut broccoli

So by the "What is a Block" in order for me to get 1 carb block I would have to eat 3 cups, but at the same time I would get 6g of protein or almost a whole protein block too! Am I just crazy or is something amiss?

The same goes for my canned black beans: the zone/cf says 1 carb block is 1/4 cup.
Again Hanover canned:
serving size: 1/2 cup
cal: 120
carbs: 21g (6g dietary fiber, 0g sugar)
protein: 8g

So a CF 1 block carb of blackbeans is actually roughtly 1/2 block protein and just over 1 block carbs.

Please help me understand this better.
Old 09-02-2005, 04:39 AM   #2
Chris Longley

Profile: