CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > Community > Community
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Community Catch all category for CrossFit community discussion.

Old 09-30-2005, 09:45 AM   #1
Justin Davis

Profile:
Last year, on a whim, I decided to run the Seattle Marathon on November 8th, 3 1/2 weeks before race day (Sunday after Thanksgiving). I had never run a foot race before and felt that I had no interest really. One of my climbing buddies was basically unavailable for climbing that summer because he was always "training for a marathon" and could not run up hills with me with pack on because it messed up his training regime. I decided that he was lame, and that training for a marathon was for sissies and I was going to prove it.

I had been doing Crossfit for all of 3 months and was relatively clueless in terms of how Crossfit worked and what it was all about. That summer I had gone on 3 or 4 grueling trail runs, all over 2.5 hour+ and 3500 ft elevation gain. I was probably running for about an hour once or twice a week, just to keep the legs moving. I did not consider myself a runner but was running just the same. Not so vital stats: 29 years old, 5'10" 180, probably a bit more body fat than today, basically good knees with a few telemark skiing complaints from the right one. The day after signing up for the race, I did a single 20 mile (or so) run, with the idea of checking out the running shoes, and the fuel and water requirements of my body as well as checking the clothing for chafing and to learn how to cope with it. I was a little sore, so I worked out the recovery with Epson Salts bath and ice on the knees. The following week I bought some BodyGlide, some proper running shorts and a new pair of shoes. I then went running for an hour or so just to make sure that the shoes fit and than the body was happy with the plan. Did not run again until 5 days before race day, when I ran for