CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 02-22-2014, 02:30 PM   #1
Richard Macaulay

Profile:
Balancing out weaknesses

Hey guys

We have an athlete that is interested in rowing. She rows single oar. There Is obviously a side she pulls more on. Is there merit in using unilateral work to work out weaknesses? (eg incorporating movements from the article below).

http://breakingmuscle.com/crossfit/5...-your-crossfit

Richard
Old 02-23-2014, 09:35 AM   #2
Robert Fabsik

Profile:
Re: Balancing out weaknesses

I'd say yes.

The problem I see is how do you combat all the volume she is doing for one side even with correctives throughout the week?

I have zero rowing experience, would there be risk in ruining her form if she were to do some sessions hitting the the other side of the oar?
Old 02-23-2014, 01:13 PM   #3
Richard Macaulay

Profile:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Fabsik View Post
I'd say yes.

The problem I see is how do you combat all the volume she is doing for one side even with correctives throughout the week?

I have zero rowing experience, would there be risk in ruining her form if she were to do some sessions hitting the the other side of the oar?
Thanks for the reply Robert. Iv asked that question to. Her coach has the team in set positions. This was done after testing the sides/positio in the bat they were suited best.

Obviousy the movements would be done on both sides. I was toying with keeping things bilateral or using more unilateral movements in her training.

Richard
Old 02-24-2014, 06:23 AM   #4
Robert Fabsik

Profile: