CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 08-15-2007, 07:05 AM   #1
Juan Romero Jr

Profile:
I would say I'm somewhat new to crossfit. I've read the articles, subscribed to the journal, and I'm somewhat familiar with most of the exercises. My problem is consistency, and availability of equipment. Consistentcy because of my commute to work, and my shift. When I've made an effort to start, it'll last a month or so, then I fall out of routine due to other important things going on, like court, getting off of work several hours late, etc.

I do not have a gym membership, and I don't plan on getting one anytime soon for budget reasons.

I'm a cop, and the police gym is only open for 8 hours, which happens to be during my shift. I commute an hour to work, so on my days off, I'm not interested in driving an hour to a gym to only workout 30-45 mins, then drive another hour home.

Are there exercises that I can build together to still get workouts that fit the Crossfit Method, but that wont require me to have access to any weight equipment, or any other resources to help me get started?

Thanks for the help
Juan
Old 08-15-2007, 07:44 AM   #2
Matt DeMinico

Profile:
There's a ton that can be done without equipment, or much equipment at all.

Ideally you have a garage, if so, look up the Garage Gym article in the journal archives, and start outfitting it with small amounts of equipment (I started with a $100 olympic barbell and weight plate set, and two dumbbells). Use collapsible sawhorses for doing heavier back squats, etc.