CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 11-26-2007, 09:33 AM   #1
Shane Dobson

Profile:
I'm a Newbie....and now I can't move!!!!HaHa

I did my first WOD and her name was "Helen" The next day I'm so sore I can hardly walk...any suggestions on day two work out when you can't physically do it? I almost hate to post this but oh well. This is completely new to me but I love the punishment!!!! Can't wait for the next one.
Old 11-26-2007, 09:46 AM   #2
Sarena Kopciel

Profile:
Re: I'm a Newbie....and now I can't move!!!!HaHa

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shane Dobson View Post
I did my first WOD and her name was "Helen" The next day I'm so sore I can hardly walk...any suggestions on day two work out when you can't physically do it? I almost hate to post this but oh well. This is completely new to me but I love the punishment!!!! Can't wait for the next one.
Check BrandX from now on! Scale, scale, scale--I cant say that enough in the beginning even if you think you are in great shape! Drink plenty of pure water, use Omega 3s and remember one of the best way to recuperate is to sleep enough (recommended at 9hrs a night!!).

Oh and be sure you are eating well! Paleo/zone is the most common way of the Crossfitter!
Old 11-26-2007, 10:41 AM   #3
Daniel Fannin

Profile:

Shane,

Welcome to the party!

I'm not a doctor or anything, so take my words with a grain of salt....

See the above post for scaling. If you're stubborn or able to push yourself VERY hard it just might save your life.

As for recovering, I take Omega-3's to help with inflammation. This morning I broke down and took a Tylenol (second time in probably years). I also do some SLOW movements to warm up to stretches. The idea is to get blood flowing to the affected muscles to help the healing process.