CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 05-15-2008, 02:47 AM   #1
Jon Knutsen

Profile:
Does a WOD after a "pure" strength session dilute the strength work?

So I just finished reading Barry Ross' book, Underground Secrets To Faster Running. The title sounds a little infommercial-ish but it appears to be based on a lot of sound concepts. In general I think most CrossFitters would subscribe to 90% of what he has to say... assuming they keep in mind that his goal is specifically to make athletes sprint faster.

The premise of the book is that in order to run faster, you have to apply more force to the ground. Sounds simple enough but as an assistant track coach I can tell you, everyone has a gimmick to sell you that promises to deliver more ground force and very few do.

Barry's answer for increasing mass specific force (MSF): The deadlift.

I won't go into all of the reasons he gives for choosing the deadlift over squats, o-lifts, etc. but he covers that in the book and he makes some interesting arguments. Personally I'm trying not to get caught up in the O-lifts vs. power lifts debate that his book brings up, but rather look at the big picture.

The big picture: Deadlifts never exceed 5 x 5, all loads are at 85% max effort or greater - constantly going after new PR's, and rest between sets is a mandatory five minutes. He goes into the physiology to support his lifting protocols but I don't think many people would argue with his logic. It's similar to what o-lifters do to ensure maximum strength gains with minimal (if any) mass gains. He also has several supplemental lifts as well but the main focus is the DL.