CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 08-14-2008, 06:04 PM   #1
Kyle Clayton

Profile:
Fran Advice

Tried to do a Fran today. My background is that I've been training CF-esque, using Ross Enamait's books which I absolutely love. For some variation, I decided to mix in some CF stuff recently and today was my first Fran.

The problem I ran into was that I am apparently too big of a weenie for the thrusters. I had no problem with the squat portion or the conditioning and did fine on the pull-ups but after 22 thrusters I couldn't push anymore. My shoulders just aren't strong enough for 45 total reps of 95 pounds.

Any advice on building up shoulder strength to deal with Fran? It really drove me crazy that one little element prevented me from doing the workout as rx'ed.

For the record, I'm a 6'1 159lb male. My workouts for the past several months have centered around my core, pullups and pushups, and olympic lifts which included push presses and such. I was moving up weight consistently, too. Apparently I still haven't improved enough to do the push press part of thrusters, though.
Old 08-14-2008, 06:50 PM   #2
lisa taylor

Profile:
Re: Fran Advice

How hard and fast are you coming up out of the squat?

Are you opening your hips all the way?
Old 08-14-2008, 06:59 PM   #3
Shane Skowron

Profile:

Well first off, you should probably work on deadlifts, squats, bench, and press because you need to gain some weight (at least if you want to excel at CF).

You should use the momentum from the front squat of the thruster to help you push up the barbell over your head. If this is what you are doing and you reach muscular failure, you should strive to increase your shoulder strength.