CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Equipment
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Equipment Outfitting a serious gym. Vendors & suppliers. Devices & equipment

Old 03-31-2007, 03:32 PM   #1
Brandon Michael Enos

Profile:
Im guessing this is a good spot for this, so sorry if Im wrong.

This is primarily for the FF, law enforcement and military personel here, but all opinions will be welcome. I am currently an EMT and I am preparing to join the AF, and I want to one day be a FF. Should I be wearing my gear when I workout? Right now, the only changes I would have to make would be wearing pants instead of shorts and boots instead of running shoes or going barefoot.

I know your supposed to lift barefoot or in thin soled shoes. And shorts are much more comfortable than pants. So it makes sense to me for office workers and what not to workout in this, but shouldnt people who have to wear boots, pants, heavy belts, bullet-proof vests, etc. while lifting, dragging, running, etc wear that stuff while working out? Getting used to how it feels, moves, etc?
Old 03-31-2007, 06:48 PM   #2
Jason Needler

Profile:
Brandon, Im in the Army and have done PT in everything from PTs (shorts, t-shirt, running shooes) to full gear (BDUs, boots, vest, even ruck and gasmask sometimes). Honestly, I don't think it makes a big difference.

When you train your job skills, you should be wearing your uniform you will be doing those skills in.

When you train your body, I don't think you really get a "carryover" benefit. The biggest place you MIGHT notice a difference is the footwear - I wear running shoes for PT, boots for work. Still, whenever I have to run in uniform (in boots), the boots were the last thing on my mind. I never thought "gee, I wish I had done PT wearing boots" in the middle of a mission. :msn-wink:

My advice: wear whatever feels best for working out.
Old 03-31-2007, 11:43 PM   #3