CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 12-08-2008, 01:21 PM   #1
Adam D Moore

Profile:
I need help dialing in my workout for max results (military)

Hello everyone. I have been lurking on this site for a while as it is a great source of information. After searching the board and experimenting with my workouts, I feel that now is the time to get everyone's advice on the best way to maximize my workouts for top results.

Background: My previous workout routines consisted of the standard 3x10 sets of body building type exercises and machines and running 15-20 miles a week.

In August of this year I began following the main page WOD's that I scaled to match my ability with no additional running (usually pack or porch never scaled any sprints or running). I have no experience with the olympic and power lifts, however, I did my best watching videos to attempt them.

After a few months of attempting the lifts whenever they would come up in the WOD, I came to the conclusion that I was doing more harm than good and decided to stop doing them until I could get proper coaching (I am in Iraq).

I continued with the modified WOD's and only executed the lifts that I was comfortable with, mainly the presses and cleans and had great results. I went from 205 to 189 by going 3 on 1 off and following a loose Paleo diet.

In November, I took the Army Physical Fitness Test and my run time had increased (gotten slower) by almost 45 seconds. I was not able to complete an easy four mile run without considerable effort. Running is an activity I enjoy and as a Soldier I need to be able to run upwards of 10K as part of the job, especially in the career field I am pursuing.

I started following Hal Higdon's Intermediate 10K training program http://www.halhigdon.com/10ktraining/10kinter.htm wfs