CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 06-25-2007, 01:23 AM   #1
Luke Hope

Profile:
Hi,

I have been doing crossfit for 2/3 months, heavily scaled. After a few *bodyweight* routines that were just too hard for me physically, I decided that I need to work to gain strength: I'm pretty puny at 147# at 5'7". I don't have a strength training background.

To remedy this, I'm following Rip's Starting Strength program (and working on pullups/dips), and holding off on Crossfit for a while. I still do MA and cycle for metcon.

So what would be an appropriate strength base for crossfit as RX'd, in terms of 1RM (or 5RM) in squat, deadlift, power clean, press (and bench press)? I presume 3x15 ring dips/pullups is necessary, too.

Hope you can help! Any other hints are welcome too.

-Luke
Old 06-25-2007, 01:31 AM   #2
Brandon Oto

Profile:
Interesting question. I could imagine two approaches to this -- an objective 1RM for doing the workouts as RX'd (the "standard CrossFitter" approach, or at least the "baseline" one), and a relative bodyweight scale (i.e. "you should be able to deadlift 1x bodyweight before you start the WoDs"). Either way I'd be interested to see some opinions.
Old 06-25-2007, 06:17 AM   #3
Craig Van De Walker

Profile:
Luke,
IMO you should not hold off on Cross Fit. Read all of the FAQs, start here, what is fitness etc.

Do Rips program and add at least two of the CF met con workouts a week (scaled of course), instead of cycling.

I would also suggest looking at your diet. Are you eating enough protien and fat.

What are you Cross fit total numbers for all of the moves as a baseline?