CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > In Sickness and In Health > Injuries
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Injuries Chronic & Acute

Old 10-05-2011, 11:11 AM   #1
Brian Sanford

Profile:
MRI set for Tuesday.

Hello all. New to the forums and have been lurking for a bit. The information is awesome.

To start the story... I played baseball all growing up and in high school and college. I had arm pains, but wrote it off as just soreness. Tylenol and biofreeze were my friends for several years. Went through physical therapy that was standard in college and stuff.

Baseball career ended, so I started playing tournament softball. The past 2 years, my shoulder/arm has gotten progressively worse. It is getting to a point where I cannot deal with it. Went to the ortho doc that repaired my torn achilles.

My symptoms are:
Awful pain from shoulder to elbow. 12 on a scale from 1-10.
Burning sensation in shoulder
Sharp pains throughout the day
Range of motion is horrible
Loss of strength big time. Cant hold a gallon of milk without shaking.
One hard throw and fingers tingle and become numb
Extreme bicep pain as well as a little bruising in bicep after physical activity.
Cant raise arm after physical activity.

Went in to the doctor and they did XRay's and he set me up for an Arthrogram MRI. He did some ROM exercises and looked at me and said, you have a torn labrum most likely.

How am I supposed to stay positive pretty much knowing that even before my MRI is done? Does it sound like a labrum tear/rotator cuff tear or whatever else?

Anyone that has had prior injuries like this, please help!

Thanks all and sorry for the long story.
Old 10-05-2011, 08:50 PM   #2
Robert Callahan

Profile:
Re: MRI set for Tuesday.

Labral tear sounds par for the course based on your activity history. Wouldn't be surprised to find some rotator cuff damage as well.