CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Exercises
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Exercises Movements, technique & proper execution

Old 09-04-2006, 06:35 PM   #1
Joshua Hass

Profile:
OK, these hand stand push ups have been giving me unbelievable fits. Granted, I'm a bigger than average guy, (5'10", 200 lbs), but I'm in what I thought was pretty good shape and w/ better than average strength in the standard power lifts, and can only knock out 4-5 with my feet up on the wall. I know that CrossFit is a different kind of fitness, but my experience is pretty much limited to the squat, deadlift, benchpress, and other bodybuilding-type movements, so that is all I have to measure myself by. I'm relatively new to CrossFit and Olympic-style lifts, but I'm seeing improvement in all areas except the HSPU. What techniques or methods have others here used to improve in this area? I'm not looking for a silver-bullet that will make me knock out 20 at a time after a couple of weeks, but a way to bring up this lagging area. Thank you in advance to everyone that attempts to bring me along!!
Old 09-04-2006, 06:46 PM   #2
Steven Low

Profile:
Lower your legs a bit at an angle so that you can do 10 or so. Next workout, lift your legs at a greater angle and do 10 and so on. This will get you to 10 HSPUs depending on how fast you can progress up the angle.

Also, negatives have been known to help after you can't do anymore positives... and should be familiar if you used them when reaching a plateau in BBing.
Old 09-04-2006, 09:06 PM   #3
Steve Serrano

Profile:
Get a set of paralettes next to a bench and with your feet on the bench, bend forward at the hips. Grab the paralettes and get your shoulders straight over your hands. This will have your torso almost upside down like in the HSPU's but without all your body weight (feet stay on the bench).