CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 09-08-2013, 01:48 AM   #1
Simon Zeitler

Profile:
Level 1 Cert with only little lifting experience?

Hey everybody,

I am relatively new to CrossFit, I basically started after seeing this years Games. Mostly I have been doing MetCons after I got 2 kettlebells, a slamball and a cheap barbell with metalplates.
Because I wanted to get better at my strength-endurance & endurance, then I had felxibility issues which develop great since starting CrossFit and buying KStars book, but mostly I was afraid of injuring myself with big lifts.

This December in Nuremberg, Germany there is a new Level 1 Cert, and I thought about attending.. So is it a problem I have never snatched or cleaned in my entire life? Or is it even better because I will learn from bottom up?

I mean maybe in 2014 I'll make it to a city like Nuremberg jobwise, and might be able to train, but I want to learn CrossFit the sooner the better... But do you guys think it will be a good idea to attend? I just dont wanna stand in the way all the time (also I cant kip on Pullups, cant do Muscle-Ups by far, etc...)?

Thanks for your advice
Old 09-08-2013, 05:52 AM   #2
Jeff Enge

Profile:
Re: Level 1 Cert with only little lifting experience?

IMO, $1000 is a whole heck of a lot to pay for two days of basics instruction. I wouldnt go until you know a little more and are interested and prepared to train people.
Old 09-08-2013, 06:03 AM   #3
Steven Wingo

Profile:

How often do they hold Level 1 Cert courses near you? If not that often, then go when you have the chance.