CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Workout of the Day
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Workout of the Day Questions & performance regarding CrossFit's WOD

Old 01-03-2012, 07:36 AM   #1
Erik Shauger

Profile:
How do You use the work out of the day?

I've been crossfitting for at least 3 years on and off now. I generally crossfit for a few months then kinda migrate back to a more traditional bodybuilding work out. I like crossfit due to the cardio component but sometimes think it needs more core bodybuilding lifts. Also sometimes the wod is a little too brief. Has anybody come up with a way to add in bodybuilding lifts with out messing up the programming of crossfit? I've seen crossfit football and done some of the wod's there but it's not quite what I want. I've also tried adding a strength component before the wod. The only problem is I need to stay a week behind the published crossfit wod to make sure I am not training the same body part twice in a row.
Old 01-03-2012, 07:59 AM   #2
Eric Montgomery

Profile:
Re: How do You use the work out of the day?

Do one of the hybrid strength programs (70s Big, GSLP, 5/3/1, CF/conjugate) that includes heavy barbell lifting 2-4 days per week, then add in intelligently programming CF-style conditioning workouts 2-4 days a week as well.
Old 01-03-2012, 08:11 AM   #3
Frances Ballesteros

Profile:

Why doesn't CFFB work for you?
Old 01-03-2012, 08:13 AM   #4
Joey Shishineh

Profile:

Best way I have found is to go above Rx weight on 1 WOD/week. This will allow you to work in strength without changing programming too much.

i.e. A couple examples from recent mainsite WODs:

120102:
Fran, go 21-15-9 105# thruster, pull-ups or maybe 15-12-9 125# thruster weighted pull-ups.

Tuesday 111227:
three rounds for time of:
155 pound Deadlift, 9 reps
155 pound Hang power snatch, 6 reps
155 pound Overhead squat, 3 reps