CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > Community > Community
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Community Catch all category for CrossFit community discussion.

Old 05-27-2008, 09:54 AM   #1
Chris Charger

Profile:
Crossfit For High School Football

I am a high school football coach, and a newbie to CrossFit. I am super-intrigued by Crossfit, and I am curious how to best implement it into our offseason conditioning program. I am not a big weight room guy as I believe much more goes into being a football player. I'd like to be more creative and innovative than just core lifts/agility drills. Any ideas on how to best use CrossFit and mesh it succesfully with core lifts? Is it possible to eliminate power lifts altogether? Thanks for your help ahead of time.
Old 05-27-2008, 10:10 AM   #2
David Miller

Profile:
Re: Crossfit For High School Football

As a former football player I really wish that I would have been aware of CF during my playing days. I've wondered how I would have tried to implement it into my training program and have come to the conclusion that CF is perfect for the skilled positions. I played quarterback and am pretty sure that CF alone would have been more than enough of a program for me. However, when you start looking lineman, i really don't think CF is enough. I think lineman could really benefit from using CF as a supplement to power lifting and that you could really improve their explosiveness and quickness from implementing CF. It's all about finding the happy medium...
Old 05-27-2008, 10:34 AM   #3
Chris Charger

Profile:

So you think that it is possible to find the right blend to power lifting and CrossFit. In my limited exposure to it, there seems to be a negative view of powerlifting in the CrossFit community. In fact, there seems to be a negative view of football in general from CrossFitters. Just a newbie's perspective.
Old 05-27-2008, 10:46 AM   #4
David Miller