CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 06-06-2011, 10:27 AM   #1
Carl Frank

Profile:
question about how to scale/choose workouts day-to-day

I'm new to crossfit and really loving it after only a few weeks. At first I started with 3 days on : 1 rest, but I quickly found I was overtraining so I scaled back to roughly 2:1 and am feeling tons better. But now I'm wondering which of the workouts on the main website I should be doing (that is, there are always going to be workouts I'm not doing if I'm not on the full 3:1 schedule, so which should I skip?). Should I be choosing workouts to target my weaknesses? Or, the ones that are most appropriate for my current fitness level (and what would that even mean)? Or, should I just start from a random date and keep going forward in strict progression, always lagging behind the date posted?

I've heard from friends that the 3 workouts are planned and sequenced that way on purpose, but haven't read that anywhere, is that true?

If it's relevant, my main goal is just general fitness across as many domains as possible. Secondarily, if I had to choose something specific, I'm pretty weak (still doing assisted pullups) and would like to increase strength. But i'd be lying if I didn't say vanity/slimming down wasn't a big goal too. I've done a lot of (fairly advanced) yoga and that was my major physical activity for a long time, so I'm great on balance/agility/flexibility/mobility, OK on cardiovascular fitness, and very much a beginner otherwise, especially in weightlifting form.

Thanks everyone for the awesome resource, I've never felt better even after this short time.

Carl
Old 06-06-2011, 11:59 AM   #2
Eric Montgomery

Profile:
Re: question about how to scale/choose workouts day-to-day