CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Nutrition
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Nutrition Diet, supplements, weightloss, health & longevity

Old 11-07-2011, 03:47 AM   #1
Andrew Breyer

Profile:
Bee pollen

Hello,

I am studying abroad in Greece, and at my local affiliate I got to talking with a member about bee pollen.

Supposedly the bee's in Athens collect excellent pollen, and as a nutritional supplement they are some sort of a "super food."

I have been searching around Google, and while I have seen pages that agree with this, it seems like everything I come across is written by someone trying to sell it.

Does anyone have experience taking bee pollen as a supplement? It's been sited to help everything from fat loss to memory to energy levels. I'm curious if anyone can support this first hand.
Old 11-07-2011, 07:46 AM   #2
Wayne Riddle

Profile:
Re: Bee pollen

If something sounds too good to be true then it probably doesn't live up to the claims.

Bee pollen has some benefits, not near as much as being pushed. Play with it and see how it works for you. I tried it for a couple of months and didn't notice any differences.
Old 11-09-2011, 02:37 PM   #3
Ivan Wolfe

Profile:

I've used Bee Pollen - but not for superfood benefits. I find that if I start consuming locally harvested bee pollen before and during allergy season, my allergies go way down (though they don't vanish).
Old 11-09-2011, 03:16 PM   #4
Katherine Derbyshire

Profile:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ivan Wolfe View Post
I've used Bee Pollen - but not for superfood benefits. I find that if I start consuming locally harvested bee pollen before and during allergy season, my allergies go way down (though they don't vanish).
Just curious. Do you see the same benefits from local honey, or does it need to be concentrated pollen?

Katherine
Old 11-09-2011, 03:36 PM   #5
Ivan Wolfe

Profile:

Quote: