CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > In Sickness and In Health > Injuries
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Injuries Chronic & Acute

Old 07-11-2011, 10:01 PM   #1
Bill Gibson

Profile:
dull left shoulder pain

I have been CFing since july 2010. I am a 5'10'' male around 195# last time I checked at (i would guess) between 10-15% body fat. I started learning butter fly pull ups around january/february, and have always mixed in strict, chest to bar, L and butterfly pull ups into my workouts. I never had any shoulder problems with high rep butterfly pulls before (100's regional WOD, filthy 50 etc. etc). About 6 weeks ago, I sliced my right palm open cutting some water melon and took about 3 weeks off from all work outs. Getting back into it around the 4th week, I started working in regular pull ups, dips, and muscle up progressions again, just to get my hand back into the swing of things. Then, two days ago, I decided to attempt the 5/31/11 WOD of 50 PU-10 burpees-40 PU-20 burpees-30 PU-30 burpees-20 PU-40 burpees-10 PU-50 burpees, doing butterfly pull ups. This was the first time in about 4-5 weeks that I had attempted high rep butterfly pulls and started to notice after the first set of 50 that I was getting a little pain in my left shoulder. I got to the set of 30 pull ups, but the set of 30 burpees is what really did me in, and I stopped. I didn't want to fight through this type of pain. Pressing my body up and down from the ground gave me kind of a searing pain. At first I was really worried that I had gotten a SLAP tear, as I had not done high rep butterfly pull ups for a good month and my body was not adapted for it yet. But I have no range of motion problems with left shoulder, as in there is no searing pain or loss of strength when I move my left hand above my head. I can scratch my back fine with a little dull pain. Today, I decided to test out my shoulder again and did some strict