CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 06-29-2011, 09:09 AM   #1
Sean Adams

Profile:
powerlifting

Hey,

I've been CFing for about 7 months now, had to take a few breaks here and there but overall consistent. I haven't quite seen great gains in my strength which makes the WODs difficult and I have to scale them. My goal is to be able to do the WODs RXd and to look bigger, be stronger. I tried Powerlifting for a month about 5 months ago and was drinking a lot of milk. I did the 5 3 1 program. I would say I did get stronger but was very put off by how quickly I put on fat especially in the gut area. I undersatdn that this is the quickest was to get strong but I'd like to stay relatively not fat (not lean just not fat) while also getting strength. I'm planning on moving back to powerlifting probably start off with a starting strength and then switch to 5 3 1. Just wondering on what your thoughts are? Is this the best way for me to get stronger? What kind of diet should I be on? I was thinking of adding some Paleo elements? Thanks for any help/advice you can give.
Old 06-29-2011, 09:21 AM   #2
Seth Leaman

Profile:
Re: powerlifting

just don't eat so much. If you were gaining tons of fat you were eating more than necessary to gain strength and size. get at least 1g protein/ lb of BW and fill the rest with fats and carbs. No special foods required.
Old 06-29-2011, 12:28 PM   #3
Brendan McNamar

Profile:
Re: power lifting

Need to give us a little more information. We need numbers. Age, height, starting and ending weight and the time it took.

If you started at 8% BF went to 14% and think you are getting too fat then the problem is your head not your waist line.