CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Nutrition
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Nutrition Diet, supplements, weightloss, health & longevity

Old 05-20-2010, 11:07 AM   #1
Jean-Paul Lara

Profile:
To those who do IF...

I've been doing STRICT paleo for the past 3 months now and have gotten to reading The Primal Blueprint and i'm thinking that this stuff is more up my alley mainly due to the fact that i don't really consume that many carbs, usually 50g a day, most times less...so i've been doing IF once a week not planned, just some mornings where i don't feel hungry and i don't eat until 11am. But i've been finding that I could go even longer without eating, possibly an entire day. I've also been tracking progress on website WODs and i'm still getting stronger and hitting PRs. I'm decreasing in bodyweight definitely though.

just wanted to know what was the longest time you've gone without a meal/IF'ing and still saw gains?
Old 05-20-2010, 11:37 AM   #2
Brad Gutting

Profile:
Re: To those who do IF...

Longer than 24 hours is going to be difficult, though it's not impossible--I personally haven't lasted more than about 26 hours, and it wasn't pleasant. Some folks like to do a "36" every now and then. I have no experience with trying to maintain a 3-on, 1-off CFWOD schedule while fasting that much, but, you could give it a shot if you're feeling particularly adventurous. At some point though, you likely WILL hit a wall. You've gotta eat enough calories to fuel recovery. Many people don't eat enough to support their activity levels.

I've heard stories about people making gains on regular 14-16 hour fasts. If you plan on doing any endurance-oriented sports, I do not recommend that however.
Old 05-20-2010, 12:12 PM   #3
James Forshaw

Profile: