CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > Community > Community
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Community Catch all category for CrossFit community discussion.

Old 04-10-2007, 12:13 PM   #1
Matt McCollum

Profile:
As of right now, I will no longer dip. Ring dips - great, bar dips - fine, even bench dips are still good to go. I'm talking about smokeless tobacco dip - I WILL NOT DIP AGAIN.

I'm almost 35 and came to the scary realization that I have been dipping for over 15 years.

There are a host of reasons for this and I am listing two major ones just remind myself why I am making this decision.

1)Health - Why kill myself (figuratively) doing the WODs and then literally kill myself by putting poison in my mouth.

2)Family - My oldest son just learned about the dangers of tobacco at school. When he asked me what I was doing ("Daddy, what's that black stuff in your mouth? "Why are you doing that?"), I was floored, had absolutely no justification, and felt like a weak failure to my son. I want to be a good role model for my sons and be around to watch them grow up.

Why post this here? Being honest with myself, I know and can recognize my own faults and weaknesses. I have tried and failed to stop before because I lacked the will to suffer through the withdrawal.

NO MORE!!! Although I will likely never meet anyone who reads this, I have announced what I will do and feel some positive peer pressure to hold myself to it.

Thanks for taking the time to read my catharsis.

Matt
Old 04-10-2007, 12:17 PM   #2
Becca Borawski

Profile:
Congratulations, Matt! That's a great decision and for great reasons, too. You're bound to have good days and bad days, but just remind yourself of these reasons you listed and that you will be both happier and healthier in the long run. :-)
Old 04-10-2007, 01:21 PM   #3
Garrett Smith

Profile:
Nice job, Matt.
Old 04-10-2007, 01:35 PM   #4
Lincoln Brigham

Profile: