CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 03-05-2009, 09:53 AM   #1
Dean Baron

Profile:
What is considered fit?

So, in an effort to spark some debate/conversation, and also I am very curious.

In the world of Crossfit, what is considered fit and what is considered elite???

Example, are you considered reasonably fit if you can do Fran in 7:00 and elite if you can do it sub-5:00?

I always post my times/scores on the main site for the WOD's. I follow the WOD's as religiously as I can. I don't consider myself in very good shape. I am 39, 6'1" and 255-ish. No problems with motivating myself to work out but eating is the inner battle!!!!!! So I've been Crossfitting now for 2 months and have started to see some gains. Only two WOD's have come around again to compare. Yesterday I knocked 8:00 off my last time, just over a month ago. Fran in 8:16 and Helen in 16:29.

When I look on the main page, the times make me feel like I'm a fat slob although for the most part I can do the WOD's as Rx'd, albeit a little slow. So, am I sort of fit, reasonably fit or a slug???
Old 03-05-2009, 10:07 AM   #2
Ryan Whipple

Profile:
Re: What is considered fit?

This is probably the most comprehensive, definitive, though not-quite-official set of ratings advanced in this community.

CrossFit Seattle's 4-Tier Standards (wfs)

I don't really think there is a sense of ranking here, as we all have strengths/weaknesses and are more focused on improving ourselves than outdoing X number of forums posters. Big guys will tear up the heavy weights, little guys do gymnastics with ease, etc.
Old 03-05-2009, 10:51 AM   #3
Joe Cavazos

Profile:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dean Baron View Post
In the world of CrossFit, what is considered fit and what is considered elite???