CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Exercises
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Exercises Movements, technique & proper execution

Old 07-07-2010, 10:37 AM   #1
Dane Peagler

Profile:
Olympic Lifts

Hello all,

I am relatively new to crossfit, about a month or so. I come from a pretty athletic background running, various sports, casual weight lifting, etc. So my times in the WODs aren't horrible, however I have noticed that a constant source of lost time is my o-lifts. I have squatted and deadlifted before (with horrible form nonetheless), but before crossfit had never done a single front squat, overhead squat, c&j, or snatch. That being said I am obviously want to improve my times and was wondering if anyone could give me a list of the o-lifts in the order that it is best to master them.

I figure, since I have so much work to do, that this might help to one step at a time get all of my o-lifts down. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
K. Dane Peagler
Old 07-07-2010, 11:06 AM   #2
Carlo Mattia

Profile:
Re: Olympic Lifts

Dane
- get to an affiliate do their on ramp or fundamental class or what ever they call it
- If that is not an option try to find an olympic lifting club
- If that is still a no go watch all the olympic lifting videos you can off the main site but nothing can replace the watchful eyes of a good coach
best of luck

FATIGUE MAKES COWARDS OUT OF MEN
Old 07-07-2010, 11:24 AM   #3
Jeremy Galo

Profile:

First off, welcome to the Forums. I hope you find what you're looking for here. Carlo makes a great point. Nothing helps more than a qualified coach.

However... if you're set on learning on your own. I highly recommend picking up Greg Everett's book on Olympic Weightlifting. Found here... http://www.cathletics.com/zen/index....roducts_id=155 (WFS) It's one of the best $35 you'll spend on a book.