CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 02-14-2005, 12:53 PM   #1
Theron Mathis

Profile:
Alot has been written lately about sports specificity of Crossfit and how to incorporate into training.

My questions relate more to Powerlifting/Weightlifting.

I have been doing Crossfit for about 6 months now, but would like to focus more on increasing pure strength. As a result I have though about cycling 6 weeks of a powerlifting/weightlifting routine to increase strength.

How do those who are competitive in those sports cycle? Do you do the WOD and then your heavy cycles?

Theron
Old 02-14-2005, 02:53 PM   #2
Matt O'Donnell

Profile:

I second this request.

Personally, I'm way too tiny, and weak. I've working some heavy lifts (deadlifts, presses, etc) outside the WOD, but I've been struggling to improve my physique and strength.

Anybody with experience out there?
Old 02-14-2005, 03:38 PM   #3
Graham Hayes

Profile:
Probably not what you're looking for, but I do 5 reps of light OHS, squat cleans and squat snatchs in my warm ups. I find this almost daily practice has made my technique feel pretty good. At an incredibly slow pace I add weight to this warm up (June 04 - 30kg; Feb 05 - 45kg). Because I'm only 70kg dripping wet I find that doing the WOD with prescribed weights is plenty good for strength. This and munching on good food gives me enough strength (and physique) to do some decent lifts.
Old 02-15-2005, 07:57 AM   #4
Ryan Atkins

Profile:
Hi Theron,

I like this approach:
http://www.crossfit.com/discus/messa...html#POST16302

I used it to increase my maxes in both of the O-lifts in relatively short time.

Hope this helps,

Ryan
Old 02-15-2005, 08:08 AM   #5
Brian Gibson

Profile:
Thanks for the link, Ryan.