CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 11-14-2011, 02:50 PM   #1
Matt Westerberg

Profile:
Want to add size. Morning weightlifting to program?

hello -

I am relatively new to Cross-Fit. I have been working out 5x per week for about 3 months. I have gone from 6'2"at 155 to about 165.
I know that Cross-Fit is more oriented towards conditioning than size, but I'd really like to get up to around 185 or so.
Any thoughts on what would happen if I added a morning weightlifting routine? I was thinking 3 or 4 mornings each week, with my Cross-Fit classes at night.
Yes. i know form follows function, but...everybody needs a goal and that one is mine.

Matt
Old 11-14-2011, 06:19 PM   #2
Drew Cloutier

Profile:
Re: Want to add size. Morning weightlifting to program?

When you say weightlifting are you talking true weightlifting? (oly lifting) or just strength training in general?

I definitely feel that if you want to get bigger you need a) more calories then what typical xfit recommends and b) more strength biased work, and possibly shorten up the metcons.

I would seriously look into Crossfit Football.
Old 11-15-2011, 06:39 AM   #3
Matt Westerberg

Profile:

I would think a combination of weight training (free weights), with a few machines (cable cross-over). I have a couple of books on training (sort of cheesy Fitness for the Stars type reads) that should get me started at least.
At my current height and weight, I think I'd be snapped like a twig in football. I wouldn't mind trying. not sure I have seen t here in NC. Most Cross-Fitters seem more interested in jiu-jitsu/muay thai. I did martial arts years ago (aikido and hsing-i), but not interested any more.
Thanks for ht ereply!
Old 11-15-2011, 06:46 AM   #4
Dave Traeger

Profile:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Westerberg View Post