CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > Community > CrossPit
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

CrossPit For discussing MMA, UFC, Pride fighting, and other martial arts

Old 07-15-2009, 02:46 PM   #1
Patrick Stern

Profile:
How much is to much training (BJJ + CF)?

I have been doing crossfit for two years, and when I go back to school I add two days BJJ practice to the schedule. I was planning on using the BJJ practice as one of my WOD days. The BJJ class is scheduled for Tuesdays and Thursday and the first hour is technique,and the last hour is sparring. The practice is very intense, draining.

The main point is, should I do both at the same time? Just curious if anyone does the same, and how well did you recover? Or should I cut back the training?
Old 07-15-2009, 08:29 PM   #2
Dane Grace

Profile:
Re: How much is to much training (BJJ + CF)?

I've done/do both. Make sure to get your sleep and eat enough and you should be fine. The ultimate advice, and this is a catch-all for nearly everything, is to listen to your body. If you feel run down and demotivated, rest.

Again, take this for what it's worth. If your personal schedule doesn't permit both, you'll have to remove training days. I fit a full time job, a social life and 3 days of Crossfit/SS, 3 days of BJJ and one rest day. It's a tight schedule, but manageable.
Old 07-16-2009, 06:30 AM   #3
Gabriel Goodwin

Profile: