CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Exercises
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Exercises Movements, technique & proper execution

Old 01-29-2007, 10:10 AM   #1
Daniel Sprenkle

Profile:
After watching the burpee video on 18 Jan, I am wondering if you are losing the conditioning aspect by doing the burpees so slowly. I've been doing them for 18 months and have followed the example as shown by Rosstraining.com which shows them being performed much faster. Any opinions would be appreciated.
Old 01-29-2007, 10:29 AM   #2
Allen Yeh

Profile:
Daniel,

As far as I know the reason for the "slower" version of the burpees is that some people have exeperience lower back pain when doing a lot of burpees in a row. There was a pretty good discussion on burpee form a last year If you use the Search feature you should be able to find it.
Old 01-29-2007, 10:33 AM   #3
Andy Shirley

Profile:
I think most burpees in that video were slowed down as a teaching tool, emphasizing correct form and scaling options.

More CF Burpee video. Burpee race video, CF site, safe.
http://media.crossfit.com/cf-video/burpee-race.wmv
from here:
http://www.crossfit.com/mt-archive2/000974.html

There was some debate a while back about the extreme back flexion of burpees being a bad thing, but I'm not sure what ever came of it(other than they are still in the WOD's, so I guess they're ok).
some discussion here:
http://www.crossfit.com/mt-archive2/001021.html

Old 01-29-2007, 10:37 AM   #4
Ian Carver

Profile:
I also think the burpees were done slower on purpose for the video as a demonstration as to the proper execution. Allen's right though, I've slowed mine down a bit so I don't get sloppy and I get my legs under me into a deep squat position before I jump up. This has helped my lower back a bit from getting overcooked on long sets. I still get a hellacious workout from them in this manner.