CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Exercises
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Exercises Movements, technique & proper execution

Old 04-01-2010, 01:15 PM   #1
Robert Anders Larson

Profile:
Knee pain in bottom of squat

I have been squatting for about 11 or 12 years, and although I have always gone below parallel, I did not realize until about a year ago that I was consistently rounding my back near the bottom. In an effort to correct this (particularly in my air squat), I have turned my feet out a bit and worked and pushing my knees out. I have experimented with a few different feet widths, but usually I'm at about shoulder width.

I still struggle with rounding at the bottom, and it seems this is because I am not hinging enough at the hips and thus have to arch my back to keep from tipping backwards. As I have tried to correct this, I noticed that as I drive my torso forward at the bottom (bending more at the hip), I get a pain in the front of my knee, right below the kneecap and to the outside. If I go reduce my hip flexion and round my back, the pain goes away. I get the same thing if I just sit in a chair with a squat stance and try to hinge forward too far at the waist.

I have been working on my flexibility, and I know it still needs improvement, but I was wondering if anything else could be leading to the knee pain. I have had no significant injuries, other than just a couple of lower-back tweaks (while back squatting, likely because of my back rounding). Has anyone else had this problem and/or does anyone have advice on fixing it? I feel that improving my air squat is critical for me to improve overall and prevent injury.
Old 04-01-2010, 01:18 PM   #2
Jamie J. Skibicki

Profile:
Re: Knee pain in bottom of squat

Video?
Old 04-01-2010, 01:24 PM   #3
Kevin Shaughnessy

Profile: