CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 01-16-2009, 09:22 AM   #1
Dan Carlin

Profile:
Heavy and slow or light and fast?

Hi,

I've been CrossFitting for about 2 months now and have been continually wondering about scalings. I'm 30 years old, ~200lbs and have been working out regularly for less than a year. My previous program was a strictly strength program. I have a fair amount of natural strength and can lift the weights in combo workouts, but my power is lacking and I can't keep the intensity over time. I have been doing WOD's as rx'd or as close as my strength allows but my times are incredibly slow. 5 round WOD's would take an hour sometimes more or I would routinely double to triple times posted on the main site. My main goal right now is power increase and sustained strength over time. I was wondering which is a better method to get that power, normal scaling with lower intensity or scale down with higher intensity? Help would be greatly appreciated. Rock on, Dan
Old 01-16-2009, 09:52 AM   #2
Joseph Shreckhise

Profile:
Re: Heavy and slow or light and fast?

Dan,
Ultimately what you want out of your WOD maximum power output. Power is nearly synanomous with intensity. If the intensity of your workout is suffering becasue the weights are too heavy to lift quickly then I would scale them down. P = W/T Its great to be able to lift heavy things (increased W) but if it takes you forever (increased T) you're not maximizing your power output.
Old 01-16-2009, 10:20 AM   #3
Justin McGinley

Profile: