CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 08-06-2008, 01:33 PM   #1
Jerry Orloski

Profile:
First Time at actual Crossfit Affiliate

Hey All,

I have been doing Crossfit for about three months now think it's the greatest thing since sliced bread. However, I cannot find anyone to do the WODs with on a regular basis, because basically none of my old workout partners want anything to do with it.

I live in the Pocono Mtn's of PA, so it's pretty rural. The nearest crossfit gym would be in Philly. I have friends that live down that way so I could go visit with them and maybe get a workout in as well. I am very interested to see how my solo workout would compare. Has anyone else out there who usually does the WODs themselves had an eye opening experience at an affiliate? I want to know if driving 2+ hours is worth it? I am thinking about driving down one Saturday a month or something like that.
Old 08-06-2008, 01:59 PM   #2
Casey Raiford

Profile:
Re: First Time at actual Crossfit Affiliate

I flew solo for about three months, then an affiliate popped up basicly in my front yard. I can honestly say that the quality of the workouts is higher. I chalk it up to having a few certified CFers running it, plus the group dynamic is a huge boost.

Can't say if it's worth it for you to drive over two hours.
Old 08-06-2008, 02:27 PM   #3
Henry Thomas Williams III

Profile:

I recommend that you go to Philly, work with some of their trainers, and make an occasional trip to join them for one of their workouts. You'll be a better CFer, no matter where you train. It's also cheaper than a Level I Certification ($1000).