CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 05-08-2008, 08:50 PM   #1
Corey Cedeno

Profile:
Late start to SS

I've been CF'ing for about five months now and while I hate neglecting my WOD's, I'm in the mind that a SS cycle would be in my best interests as an athlete. Not to mention a little bit more muscle weight couldn't hurt. I'm wondering however, is it too late to do SS?

I've been doing CF for 5 months now. I'm down to an 8 m Fran, 22 m Angie, 2x BW DL, 1 3/4 BW BS, 3/4 BW SP, stuff like that. Nothing much, but not what I would deem a novice and in most need of SS.
Old 05-08-2008, 10:20 PM   #2
Alex Blum

Profile:
Re: Late start to SS

It all depends on your goals . . .
Old 05-08-2008, 10:37 PM   #3
Elliot Fuller

Profile:

If your lifts have progressed far enough, SS might not be as applicable or as effective for you. It's generally catered to people who haven't really pushed their lifts very far yet, as far as I know. You might benefit more from a 5x5 ME routine or something along those lines. I've never done much outside of CF and SS though, so your mileage may vary. Just my $0.02
Old 05-09-2008, 02:10 AM   #4
Jay Cohen

Profile:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elliot Fuller View Post
If your lifts have progressed far enough, SS might not be as applicable or as effective for you. It's generally catered to people who haven't really pushed their lifts very far yet, as far as I know. You might benefit more from a 5x5 ME routine or something along those lines. I've never done much outside of CF and SS though, so your mileage may vary. Just my $0.02
Disagree.
SS is for anyone wanting to get very strong, period. You want to Blackbox, go for it, many threads on combos of ME SS, Ying Yang, you name, people have asked, so search before asking, please.