CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 04-17-2007, 06:51 PM   #1
mike treanor

Profile:
Hi everyone, I posted this before, but I was hoping to get multiple opinions.

I’m new to CrossFit, but have been reading about the long-term health benefits of high intensity interval training. I know CrossFit advocates it, but I was wondering to what extent we often do it.

From my understanding (which could certainly be wrong cause I’m new) you accrue the greatest benefit from interval training when the intensity is high (>80% of VO2 max), duration is short, and the recovery period is equal to or double the duration of effort. My question is to what extent we do this in CrossFit? It seems like many times we are developing power (through maximum load activities) or increasing anaerobic and aerobic fitness through high intensity efforts. In the latter case, efforts range anywhere from 5 to 20 min depending on the WOD, but there is no equal recovery period and additional intervals.

I know we sometimes use the Tabata interval, but I was wondering if we do it frequently enough to gain the benefits. It is obvious that CrossFit is amazing for all around fitness, but I guess I was just wondering if we get the same benefits spoken about with interval training.

Again, I’m new so I apologize if I’m getting this all-wrong.

Thanks for the help!
Old 04-17-2007, 08:58 PM   #2
Damien Del Russo

Profile:
Mike,

You are correct that the Tabata's are the major way CrossFit involves interval training. Tabata rowing is pretty wicked. I really like the "Tabata Fight Gone Bad" video, too.