CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Nutrition
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Nutrition Diet, supplements, weightloss, health & longevity

Old 08-25-2007, 12:44 PM   #1
Tony Stock

Profile:
How I lost 130 Lbs

I am new to the crossfit forums. I notice there is alot of good info on weight loss on here and thought I would share my story of how I lost 130 Lbs.

It took me about 1 1/2 yrs of work to go from 300 to 170. Here's how I did it.

I started out by simply looking at my calories. For the first week I just logged everything I ate and didnt change anything. Just by being conscious of what I was doing I lost 1 Lbs.

Week 2 I targeted about 1800 calories per day. I didn't really care where the calories came from as long as I was not hungry. I went to the store, looked at what seemed like every item they had and decided what I would and wouldnt eat.

I ate 6 times per day. That week I lost 3 Lbs. Most of my diet consisted of Chef boy r dee and that sort of easy microwaveable stuff. I didnt care about the macronutrient breakdown at all. I logged every bite of what I ate and never ate anything that I did not know the calories of.

I worked out every single day. Alternating cardio one day, weights the next.

After a few months of this and about 40 Lbs, I started follwing the principles laid down in Tom Venutos Burn the Fat, Feed the Muscle. This is an awesome resource that I consider indespensible to doing it right.

This helped me design healthier menus that would maximize my weight loss and retain my muscle, or what passed for muscle at the time.

I continued this until i reached my goal weight. It was actually pretty simple if you stick with it. Some good tips are as follows:

1. Log everything you eat.

2. Don't eat anything that you don't know the calories of. This included Moms home cooking, Thanksgiving, etc.

3. Stop drinking beer. It will kill a diet.