CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 04-05-2007, 10:26 PM   #1
Ryan Sears

Profile:
The weekends are starting to be rough for me. I'm starting a new job soon and I don't think there is anyway I can get to the gym on the weekends. I was wondering how people doing the 5 on, 2 off, program felt about it and how they accommodated the WOD to fit. Thanks.
Old 04-05-2007, 10:33 PM   #2
Max Seid

Profile:
Hey Ryan, although most people go 3 on and 1 off, you can really only do what your body can handle. For myslef, the 5 day plan works the best. I'm a college student and the weekends are my time to relax. I like to do the WOD on MWF and get my heavier lifts in on Tue and Thur. I'll do squats, deadlifts, etc. on those days.
Hope this helps.
Old 04-06-2007, 07:36 AM   #3
Roark Marsh

Profile:
Thank you Max! That is exactly my situation, and my plans. What heavy lift rotation are you doing? I was planning on heavy squat/jerk/clean/deadlift/bench days, and rotating those through. I'm also a bit concerned with slipping behind the posted WOD, how do you handle that? Especially adding in heavy lifting days.
Old 04-06-2007, 12:43 PM   #4
James Conklin

Profile:
Ryan,

I have only gone 5 and 2 since I started. Weekends are family and get stuff done around the house time. And rest!

I follow the WOD as laid out (although usually Scaled in some fashion!) I am currently about 1 1/2 weeks behind - just did the WOD from 26 March. And Monday I'll do 27 March. I skip rest days unless they happen to coincide with a weekend.

Could I do better if I went 3/1? Maybe, but I'm happy, in good shape and it fits my lifestyle.
Old 04-06-2007, 02:11 PM   #5
John Seiler

Profile:
Ryan,