CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > Community > Running a CrossFit Facility
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Running a CrossFit Facility Tips and guidance on how to open and operate a CrossFit gym.

Old 11-21-2005, 09:44 AM   #1
Michael Jay

Profile:  
I am intertested in opening a Crossfit facility in Spokane, WA., and would like to incorporate a mental health element with it. I am a mental health professional, as well as a Crossfit'er. In Spokane, mental health services have taken a big financial hit, and we need a new approach to working with those needing services. There are great studies showing the benefits of physical exercise in the reduction of depression, comparable to the results of med therapy. Considering the costs and benefits, it seems like this might have some potential. Does anyone know of another facility doing this? Any feedback is welcome!
MJ
Old 11-21-2005, 12:40 PM   #2
Kenneth Urakawa

Profile:
Hi Michael-

I know that there are some professionals around here (Phoenix) who recommend exercise as an adjunt therapy, but I'm not aware of anyone who oversees the exercise, or a facility which offers both. My understanding is that there are challenges with managed healthcare (ie., a mental health professional is not an exercise professional), so most will just recommend exercise, or even refer clients to a gym/trainer (but on an un-official basis).

It is kind of surprising with the volume of research out there (North et al, Craft et al, etc.) that exercise isn't recognized as a valid therapeutic modality. Hopefully multi-taskers like yourself can bridge that gap.

Please keep us updated on your efforts--I'd love to see you make it happen. Good Luck!

Ken
Old 11-21-2005, 01:31 PM   #3
Skip Chase

Profile:
Greetings Michael,