CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 01-12-2011, 05:18 PM   #1
Matthew Mullins

Profile:
Is just doing the WOD itself enough

Although I am familiar with a similar style of workouts and all of the exercises I am fairly new to crossfit and am begining my crossfit program by simply doing the WOD's everyday.

My question is weather or not others simply do just the WOD or if they do other lifting exercises in addition to the WOD? I was thinking about maybe doing a lifting routine in addition to the WOD but was not sure if this was too much. I am mainly looking to get fit and ripped up as opposed to trying to bulk up although I'd like to put on some muscle in the process.

Do others think simply doing the WOD is enough to see dramatic results or do you recommend supplementing other workouts as well?

Thanks
Old 01-12-2011, 05:58 PM   #2
Katherine Derbyshire

Profile:
Re: Is just doing the WOD itself enough

What are your numbers like now? What's your diet like?

Have you actually done any of the workouts? Many people develop a lot more respect for the program once they have.

Katherine
Old 01-12-2011, 05:59 PM   #3
Lenora Galitz-Pfeffer

Profile:

You may get a varied response on this one. I think the Wendler 5-3-1 strength program works well with the WODs, and gets you stronger, faster than WODs alone. I have also heard that you can get stronger just doing the WODs. I think you can do better in the WODs if you do strength also. Just don't overdo it on the WODs. Rippetoe's Starting Strength is best done alone. As for getting "Ripped" - that also involves diet. That's a whole 'nother thread. Check out Zone and Paleo. Good luck.
Old 01-13-2011, 04:30 PM   #4
Victoria Ramirez

Profile: