CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Nutrition
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Nutrition Diet, supplements, weightloss, health & longevity

Old 06-28-2010, 07:42 AM   #1
Aniket Panjwani

Profile:
18 Years Old, Vegetarian for Last four and a half years

I've been a vegetarian for the last four years, initially for health reasons and later for ethical reasons. After reading some of the threads on this discussion board, my health reasons seem like bunk, but I still feel strong about the ethical reasons.

I'm an economics student, and realized that it might be more efficient to support a substitute for factory farms rather than be pure vegetarian. So, I plan on eating good grass-fed meat, and never eating any meat other than that.

I'm at home for two months before I go off to college. I've been rock climbing the entire summer, four to five times a week. I found out there's a CrossFit affiliate at my college, so I'll start doing that along with rock climbing next year. In the meantime, I'll add in some hill sprints and pushups with the climbing.

I'm 5'11" and 165 pounds, which is a good weight for me, but I have too much body fat. For the next two months, I'm going to do a half Targeted Ketogenic Diet. This means I eat significant amounts of carbohydrates only before a certain cutoff time, which for me is 2:00 P.M, and also after a workout.

I have a few questions.

1. I haven't eaten meat in a long time and I have never prepared meat. I've never eaten beef, veal, bison, or pork before. I have no qualms about eating them now, but my mom is a Hindu who would object to beef, so I can't get any of that until college. I've ordered a crockpot, since it seems like an easy and time efficient way to cook meat. Do I need special knives or anything to prepare meat? Do you have to wash meat, or can you just cook it? I'm really clueless in this department.