CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 06-11-2012, 03:47 PM   #1
Jake Breakey

Profile:
Why can't i get stonger!

I have been doing crossfit for 3 years now and i have not seen huge gains in my lifts. I almost feel like i have been stuck for the past year. I just started Rudy Neilsons programming and am hoping that will make something happen.

Im 5'11, 170
Deadlift - 325
Back squat 270
Press - 145

I want to try to compete but strength is really holding me back
Old 06-11-2012, 03:58 PM   #2
Matt Sloan

Profile:
Re: Why can't i get stonger!

Eat more meat! your kinda light for 5'11 I'd eat more and try to add a little bit to your bar every week. even if is just a few pounds. You could also be over training
Old 06-11-2012, 04:12 PM   #3
Aaron C Bennett

Profile:

You might try Crossfit Football or just focus on your strength for 3 months doing a pure strength program and cutting back on the CrossFit workouts. Test yourself after 3 months of doing a strength program and see if you aren't better at the standard Crossfit benchmarks.
I like Bill Starr's off-season 5x5 program because it's a strength based program with an eye towards how it will translate to your athletic performance once the season starts. Pick up a copy of The Strongest Shall Survive for all of the gritty details. In addition to lifting heavy, you might try drinking a gallon of milk a day in addition to your normal eating. 170 seems light to me for an adult male of your height. Adding more beef to your frame will help your lifts go up.
Old 06-11-2012, 04:42 PM   #4
Mike Jenkins

Profile:

Try cutting back your met con a bit, focus on heavy compound movements. What does your current program and diet look like?
Old 06-11-2012, 04:50 PM   #5
Joey Shishineh

Profile:

Quote: