CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Exercises
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Exercises Movements, technique & proper execution

Old 12-04-2011, 11:08 PM   #1
Jimmy Nelson

Profile:
Deadlift form old school, new school right or wrong

Ok, since ive been doing crossfit for a little over 3 months, my worst day is deadlift day cuz it kills my back for days. So I made a form change on my own and went old school (sumo style width with legs, Louie Simmons) and my lifts felt better and the back wasnt hurting as bad or as long. Then one day on of the other coaches was teaching and made me stop doing it that way. Ive gone back the other way I was basically on the DL for a week.

Basically is it such a bad thing to go so wide with the lower body?
Old 12-05-2011, 12:11 AM   #2
Adam Carlson

Profile:
Re: Deadlift form old school, new school right or wrong

Sumo and conventional are slightly different in how they train your body, but both are viable lifts that are used by people in competition.

Learning how to do both correctly is good, and you will eventually find what works best for your body. I personally like conventional better than sumo, but I will throw sumo in to the mix every once and again in order to mix things up and not be one dimensional in my training.
Old 12-05-2011, 12:40 AM   #3
Katherine Derbyshire

Profile:

If deadlifts kill your back for days, you're doing something wrong. Either ask your coach or post video here. If sumo helps, it may be that sumo fits your particular body better, but it might also be because lifting sumo-style helps some other form fault.

Katherine
Old 12-05-2011, 06:58 PM   #4
Jared Ashley

Profile:

This guy seems to disprove your coach:

http://board.crossfit.com/showthread.php?t=71310 (WFS)