CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 09-11-2010, 03:37 PM   #1
Brett Webster

Profile:
Question Using Starting Strength while competing in a sport.

Hello all. I am fairly new to CF and need the communities advice. The reason I got into Crossfit was because I play Ultimate and wanted to gain fitness to help out with my game. From an athletic point of view, Ultimate requires similar fitness as Soccer (because you run a lot) and basketball (because you need agility and crazy jumping skills). For those that don't know, ultimate basically involves throwing a frisbee to your teammates until you eventually catch the disc in the endzone when you score.

I have been playing Ultimate for about 2 years now. Over the summer, I was playing Ultimate about 5 times a week, I played for the club team in the Dallas area, and I gradually worked CF into my program after hearing about it. At the present point in time, Ultimate is about to slow way down after a big tournament next weekend, so it looks like a good opportunity for me to work on my fitness. After next weekend, I will have to go to two 3 hour practices a week plus the occasional weekend long tournament, because I am one of the captains for the club team at UTD where I go to school. I was thinking the SS program would be really good for me right now, but I have a couple of questions.