CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > Community > Community
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Community Catch all category for CrossFit community discussion.

Old 05-02-2010, 07:15 PM   #1
Stephanie Long

Profile:
Faster Half Marathon

Hi guys!

I'm new to Crossfit and new to the forum. I started doing Crossfit at the first of January, and I really love it. I only go once a week, but I'm about to increase to twice a week. I love being stronger, and feeling physically capable in ways I never have before.

Most of my athletic background is distance running. Last year, I entered a half marathon trail race. I wrote my own training program (these were the pre-Crossfit days), and had great results. I won the race and turned in a 1:33 time.

I want to do another half marathon this year. I love Crossfit, but I don't see it making me a faster half marathoner. I love the Crossfit philosophy of being generally very good at many things, but not great at any one specific thing; however, in this case, I want to turn in a "great" half marathon time. I want to go sub-1:30.

Should I sideline Crossfit while I train? Or cut back? I looked at Crossfit Endurance, but their focus seems to be on "finishing" or "finishing well." I'm past that -- I want to win again.

Thoughts? Experiences? Help?

Thanks!
Old 05-02-2010, 07:24 PM   #2
Stephanie Long

Profile:
Re: Faster Half Marathon

Here, let me give you an idea of what I did to train before -- maybe there's something I can sub out for Crossfit, or perhaps someone will see a gap that can be better filled.

Monday - Spin class (a supertough one, taught by an ex pro mtn biker)
Tuesday - Off or light miles
Wednesday - Speed work on the track
Thursday - 5-7 miles
Friday - Off or light miles
Saturday - Long run (started at 6 miles, built to 13)
Sunday - Mountain bike ride (2-3 hours)