CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Exercises
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Exercises Movements, technique & proper execution

Old 05-16-2008, 05:52 PM   #1
David Meverden

Profile:
Working out with girlfriend/ "Couples" workouts?

I would like to workout with my girlfriend this weekend but am not sure what kind of workout to do.

Background:
I've been doing crossfit workouts more regularly for around 3 months now and am very fit by normal standards, and am doing descent by crossfit standards (7 min fran, ~625 CFT, 35 min murph. Gotta get some o-lifting coaching now!). Before xfit I did largely heavy bag work and sandbag/bodyweight workouts in my apartment, with occasional gymnastic workouts on the side.

My girlfriend has done running, yoga, and some other misc workout stuff. She has shown some interest in how I workout: We’ve going running together, I've spent a couple of sessions teaching her how to punch a heavy bag, and she joined me for a relatively easy crossfit workout with some local people, all of which she’s enjoyed. She can do some pushups but has not had much strength training.

Now, my goal is NOT to try to push her to into becoming a crossfitter. Some failed attempts at that with co-workers, and now reading some other threads here on that topic, have confirmed my decision to let her either take initiative on that or not, as she would like.

What I WOULD like is to do is to occasionally workout together, whether that workout would be true crossfit stuff or not. I think working out and getting sweaty together is fun, and a good activity to become closer with someone.