CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 05-15-2008, 10:44 AM   #1
Sean Lewis

Profile:
Born to Be Alive...Born to Be A Xfittr

My name is Sean, and I am a newbie. A friend turned me on to this frenzy, and I can truly say it is a humbling experience. Question to the fitters out there. Is it okay to be humbled by this, because looks can be deceiving. Just when I think I got the hang of it, HUMBLE kicks me right in the butt. I feel like when I stop, I am defeating the purpose.

Help..

Signed,

Born to Strive.

P.S. Does it matter that I am not at a crossfit gym?

Last edited by Sean Lewis : 05-15-2008 at 10:57 AM. Reason: entered more info
Old 05-15-2008, 12:03 PM   #2
Brendan Hurd

Profile:
Re: Born to Be Alive...Born to Be A Xfittr

There is nothing wrong with being a little humbled by the workouts because everyone is and that is the beauty of CF. There is always another skill, another step, and another level to try and get to. Alot of it is mental and making youself realize your body can do one more rep and it can pick up that bar 5 seconds earlier.

As far as not being at an affiliate it really depends on you. I have a hard time keeping my intensity up when i am alone and find that at the gym there is always a little extra motivation whether it be the trainer or just the guy next to you who is now 2 rounds ahead. Also the amount of support and encouragement you get at a gym goes a long way, even if your DFL in a WOD everyone is still cheering and pushing you to finish. There is something special in that.

Keep working and you'll get there, take each does of humility and turn it into determination to get better.
Old 05-15-2008, 12:12 PM   #3
Jake Di Vita

Profile:

I agree with Brendan. I work out by myself in a Globo Gym for now...although I wish I could be in an affiliate.