CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Nutrition
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Nutrition Diet, supplements, weightloss, health & longevity

Old 07-22-2010, 07:17 PM   #1
Ariel DeNoto

Profile:
Zone help

So I'm just beginning the Zone diet, and I am on a 11 block day, with ratio of 1:1:4 (equal carb and protein with 4x fat) I have the Zone book, and a few reference pages for block conversions for foods. My question is how do I convert foods to blocks that are not on the reference pages? And how can I tell which foods are not just a protein or a carb or fat? For example, if 1 egg is concidered 1 block of protein, is it also a fat? I'm also confused on if a food has like 13 g carbs..is it 1 or 2 blocks? Because one block is 9g?
Any explanations would be helpful I have the Entering the Zone book..so if anyone has a certain page or chapter that would help me out let me know!
Thanks!
Old 07-22-2010, 08:13 PM   #2
Eric Montgomery

Profile:
Re: Zone help

Don't overthink things--count foods as their primary macronutrient only. Yes, an egg has a lot of fat, but to simplify things you only count it as protein. Some vegetables will have a little protein but you still count them as carbs only. You'll drive yourself crazy trying to count individual grams, the Zone is supposed to make things easier by allowing you to count blocks rather than grams or calories.

If something isn't in the book use the standard block conversions--7g is one block of protein, 9g is one block of carbs, and 1.5g (3g, actually) is one block of fat. So if it's 13g of carbs count it as 1 or 2, it really doesn't matter enough to obsess over. Being a few grams off isn't going to ruin your "magical" hormonal Zone as Sears would have you believe. If anything just err on the side of a little lower carb and a little higher protein and fat and you'll be ok as long as you're eating mostly Paleo choices.