CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Nutrition
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Nutrition Diet, supplements, weightloss, health & longevity

Old 09-17-2012, 06:17 PM   #1
Scott Macneill

Profile:
New to Paleo - Carb Question

Hey gang, i'm new to Paleo... just starting to get into it. I've been told by some people that some carbs dont count, such as that from some veggies. I'm trying to lose some weight, i'm about 12.5% fat now, want to get down to 8. I know daily apple says 50-100 carbs, for today i came in under 100 but i'm wondering if i could have added some more. almost 1/2 my carbs came from veggies. Would have loved to add a banana or sweet potato in there.

Here's my day today: http://i.imgur.com/Ov9Py.png

Thanks!
Old 09-17-2012, 10:49 PM   #2
Doug Blankenship

Profile:
Re: New to Paleo - Carb Question

If you want to eat a banana or sweet potato then eat it. There is nothing wrong with eating more carbs. This fourm, along with other forums have created this carb and fruit fear that makes people who don't know any better fear simple foods. I know because at one time I almost believed these food would some how cause me to die in a short amount of time after eating them.

Green leafy veggies don't count as carbs in my book. I eat them all day and they don't support my energy needs for the activity that I put out on a daily basis. I need sweet potato's, potato's, rice, a large and I do mean large amount of fruit, my lara bar habit, bread (Yeah I said it) bread, Steel cut oatmeal and other startchy veggies on a somewhat daily basis.

The trick is knowing when to eat these things to support what your doing, or for recovery etc. You do not need to be under 100 grams of carbs daily to lean out. Everyone is different. In the end, eat fruit, eat startchy things from time to time, enjoy some oatmeal and for goodness sake eat that banana .
Old 09-17-2012, 11:18 PM   #3